compass rose, sometimes called a windrose or Rose of the Winds, is a figure on a compass, map, nautical chart, or monument used to display the orientation of the cardinal directions (north, east, south, and west) and their intermediate points.

The compass rose has eight principal winds. Listed clockwise, these are:

Compass point Abbr. Heading
North N
North-East NE
East E 90° (45°×2)
South-East SE 135° (45°×3)
South S 180° (45°×4)
South-West SW 225° (45°×5)
West W 270° (45°×6)
North-West NW 315° (45°×7)

Weather Stations use a 16-point compass rose.

16-point compass roses are constructed by bisecting the angles of the principal winds to come up with intermediate compass points, known as half-winds, at angles of difference of 22​1⁄2°. The names of the half-winds are simply combinations of the principal winds to either side, principal then ordinal. E.g. North-northeast (NNE), East-northeast (ENE), etc.


Return to Help Center >>

Product Page